B. Player turn
If player has no leaders at game at the start of his turn, he may opt to show and discard his entire hand and draw 6 new units; if there is still no leaders, he may do this again up to two times (for total of 3 times)
Moving: Leaders without units may move up to 2 areas. Leader may move thru opponent controlled territory with enemy units if opponent accepts or leader succeeds in servivility check. If check fails, opponent may attack leader.
Army may move one territory per turn.
Underground movement: Instead of normal movement, army may move underground if it starts it's movement phase in friendly territory with mine or fortress. In such case, d20 is rolled to see where army ends. One reroll is accpeted, but player must accept the new place. If 20 is rolled, entire army is destroyed in messy way, and in a roll of 19, they are lost in the dark and must roll for location next turn (without reroll possiblity). If army arrives to location with hostile troops and fortress, they automatically "surprise" them (look combat)
Leaving the troops behind: Leader may leave any number of units to friendly territory, and such troops attack any enemy that comes there. They may be claimed by their native leader or by friendly unit; in such case, authority test must be made by claimer or they attack him unless claimer was native leader.
Unit without leader: If units find themselves without leader in any unfreidnly territory they are automatically destroyed. Otherwise they stay there until claimed by native leader or leader controlled by controller of territory.
Claiming the territory: Leader gains control of territory if there is no hostile troops. Only orcland territories are ever controlled.
Levying: Leader may try to levy units once per turn, and may only levy them in his home territory if leader was levied this turn.
No units may be levied until territory is controlled by player unless they are levied at the same time as leader. All standard units in same territory MUST be levied at the same time.
If units are native, they automatically come under control of leader, otherwise leader must success in authority check or new units attack him. Such troops are detsroyed if they must retreat, otherwise land becomes neutral and units stay there, and can be claimed later by native leader (look leaving the troops behind) If army tries to control kobolds or goblins, +1 is gained to authority check if power of army is at least double of kobold and goblin total power.
Attack: If units enter territory with enemies battle occurs, unless neither side want it AND units are outlands. In orclands fighting mut be done.
After combat between goblinoids is done, army may attack caravans in the same territory. If there is more than one caravan, all can be attacked, one by one.
Claiming native units: If leader arrives to location with one or more native troops, controller of those troops must make authority check to keep them, otherwise they swap to under control of their native leader. In case of kobolds and goblins, no units can be taken away from their native leader.
Retreating: If army or leader is forced to retreat after combat (see combat), it must move to adjacent free territory. If there is no such terrains, army is destroyed and leader killed. After retreat move army may not attack caravans, but leader may immediately move another area if it has not yet moved this turn. Otherwise this retreat is units move for this turn.
Spies: Spies can be used to do one of the following things and are then discarded:
All mines produce and gold counter if there was friendly unit in territory for full turn, caravan chips are NOT replaced this time (in all other cases they are)
In such case, d8 is rolled against authority (left corner), and test is
succesful if same number or lower is rolled. Following modifiers apply
to authority in control checks (not leader rampage):
+1 if all troops controlled are native and/or goblins and kobolds
+1 if in fortress (look fortresses)
If trying to control new units:
+1 if target units are kobolds or goblins and army total power is twice their power
8 is always failure regardless of modifiers
Fortress allows underground movement, counts for power victory and affects combat if someone attacks territory. Fortress do not help against spies, own troops (including levying), enemy troops levied to same location or caravans.
No more than one fortress may be in same territory, and if new is builded, old is destroyed.
If army is forced to retreat from fortress, they must go to caves and roll for location. No reroll is possible and army is destroyed if it aimmediately arrives to location with hostile troops.
War machine negates fortresses, see combat.
No leader or army may have two shamans nor move them from on leader to another.
If leader is 'hacked to pieces', test is made against half servivility (after bonuses, round down), and if is killed, shaman is too.
1-2 power 1 3-4 power 2 5 power 3 6 power d6-1Draw equal number of gold chits for caravan treasury. Any caravan drawn is new rumours and new are drawn to replace them.
If caravan is partially destroyed and forced to retreat, winner gains random gold chits equal to destroyed power and remaining caravan moves one step onward (it cannot be attacked by same army again this turn!). If caravan wins, any destroyed power (gold chits) are lost.
MINDLESS CHARGE - army makes full thrust to annihilate enemy
CAREFUL ADVANCE - army makes careful advance to minimize own losses
CLEVER STRATEGY - army prepares for enemys charge with 'clever' plan
After both combatants have choosed their strategy, tehy reveal them at the same time (one way is to use rock(MC), paper(CS) and scissors(CA))
Lonely chief: Lonely chief may opt to flee; in that case, it is automatically 'destroyed' and must make servivility check to escape (see below).
If chief had shaman, he automatically joins winner.
Shamans: If either player has shaman, he may choose his strategy AFTER enemy has revealed his! This advantage is negated if both have shaman.
Caravan: After attacking player has revealed his strategy, roll d3 for caravan strategy.
Fortress: If there is fortress in territory, defender must use it (unless fight is against levied or rebel trooops). With fortress, defender strategies are:
MINDLESS CHARGE - army makes full thrust from castle to annihilate enemy
CAREFUL DEFENCE - army occupies castle walls to herd off attackers
CLEVER STRATEGY - army uses 'clever' tactic to surprise attackers
Against fortress, note that attack options wield a bit different results..
Underground surprise against fortress: If army arrives to fortress via underground caves, they automatically have clever strategy while defender has careful defence. (quite a massacre)
-3 Mindless charge 4-5 Careful advance/defence 6+ Clever strategy Roll modifiers: -1 if biggest unit in army is troll or ogre +1 if biggest unit in army is kobold or goblin +1 if defenders are in fortressIf there is tie between biggest troop, owner decides what gives bonus before roll.
If trolls are stupid, they do not partake in combat, and after combat they are joined to original army if it survives (even leader only). If army was compltely destroyed, they may join victorious army. If victorious army is hostile, leader must make authority check or trolls wander away to tribe cup.
Defender: Attacker: | Charge Careful Strategy |--------------------------------------------- Charge | 1:1* - 1:1* 1:5* - 1:2* 1:1* - 1:5 Careful | 1:2* - 1:5* 1:2 - 1:2 1:5 - 1:2 Strategy | 1:5 - 1:1* 1:2 - 1:5 1:5 - 1:5 *leader is hacked to pieces if 'destroyed' (see below)Example: Power 23 charges while power 11 has clever strategy. 11 damage is inflicted to charges while only 4 to strategists.
Defender: Attacker: | Charge Careful Strategy |--------------------------------------------- Charge | 1:1* - 1:1* 1:1 - 1:5 1:5* - 1:1 Careful | 1:2 - 1:1* 1:2 - 1:5 1:1 - 1:5 Strategy | 1:1 - 1:5* 1:5 - 1:1* 1:5 - 1:5 Note: If defender charges, castle bonus is lost. *leader is hacked to pieces if 'destroyed' (see below)Assigning the damage: Both sides divide damage deal to them in any way to choose, with following rule:
After all damage is dealt, all units with at least one damage point are destroyed excpet for one unit, which may survive: player rolls d6 and adds that to assigned damage. If result is more or equal to unit's power, it is destroyed, too. Otherwise unit survives.
If leader is destroyed, it may be captured (see killing the leader) unless it was hacked to pieces (combat result) and did not survive.
Fortresses: Fortress absorbs damage equal to it's ratineg (ie. against fortress 4, total damage is effectially reduced by 4)
War Machines: In addition for giving it's power to combat, war machine negates fortress bonus equal to itäs power. Only one war machine may do this effect. If total damage exceeds total power of defender + castle rating, castle is destroyed.
Surrender: If total damage exceeds total power of army, troops surrender on a d6 roll of 1,2 instead of destruction. (war machines and leaders are always destroyed)
All regenerated trolls are then returned to their army. If they are from losing side, opponent may make authority check to gain control of them; otherwise they are returned to tribe cup. If there are no armies left (all were killed), trolls become neutral and are returned to tribe cup unless they are in native land in which case they stay there.
Leadership victory: Player has at least 5 leaders _with_armies_ in orclands.